top of page

Toronto expected to add 5 new transit stations by 2026

Only five SmartTrack stations remain in John Tory's flagship transit plan as of 2021: Finch-Kennedy, East Harbour, King-Liberty, St. Clair-Old Weston and Bloor-Lansdowne. Image via City of Toronto.

It may open much later than initially promised, and with only a fraction of the originally-planned stations, but Toronto Mayor John Tory's SmartTrack program is still alive... for now.

What was pitched by Tory in 2014 as a 22-stop rapid surface rail route has been reduced to just five stations as of this week, according to a newly-published report set to go before the city's Executive Committee on January 27.

Two SmartTrack stations have been axed from the most-recent iteration of the plan, which had been approved in 2016 with seven stations running along a GO rail corridor, long before the forthcoming Ontario Line was even a glimmer in Doug Ford's eye.

Click here to read the entire article:

By Lauren O'Neil


bottom of page